There Is No Death

7_angels

I returned yesterday from Decorah, Iowa. I received a call November 13th that I both dreaded and welcomed, “your Dad is actively dying.” They were shocking words, yet expected as my Dad was in hospice and almost 99 years old. I had to make quick arrangements for air, ground transportation and hotel, but God’s hand was visible as things opened up easily and effortlessly at the last minute.

As my Dad had rallied so many times in the past since my Mom transitioned in 2008, I secretly hoped that I would walk in his room and he would be sitting up with his perpetual smile. All of Decorah knew my Dad as “Hap” short for “Happy” as his positive attitude and smile was contagious and ever-present. Everyone knew and loved Hap!

My Dad loved the outdoors. He greeted all with his famous smile as he walked all over town, the many trails, nature paths and parks, rode his bike and motorcycle, hunted, fished, gardened, and played golf until he was 92. He got kicked out of hospice three or four times because he recovered from terminal events.

When he was only 19 he was run over by a tractor on the family farm and should have died; they couldn’t get him into town because of the severity of his injuries. A man showed up at the door with a Gospel of John and told Dad that if he read it he would live. My Dad recovered and no one ever saw the unknown man again as most likely it was an angel in disguise. My Dad became a man of strong faith, character and the fullness of joy that has nothing to do with outward circumstances and everything to do with knowing and directly experiencing the Love of God.

angels-youwall.com

One thing I know for sure: there is no death in Christ Jesus; there is only dropping the physical body and transition into a new form. Surrounded by family in my Dad’s last hours, we witnessed the peace that surpasses all understanding. We sang hymns and spiritual songs and even though my Dad seemed to be unconscious he heard every word and even moved his mouth as though he was attempting to sing certain verses or words.

My fifteen month old granddaughter, Elizabeth Hope, sat in her Mom’s lap signing Jesus Loves Me as we all sang Dad into heaven. “And a little child shall lead them…” He seemed to mouth the words to the song, then as his breathing changed to intermittent, we saw him make four gentle, loving kissing motions with his lips; possibly holy kisses as he greeted Jesus, angels or loved ones in heaven.

Then I became overwhelmed with the coming of the Presence of the Spirit of God as the atmosphere shifted in the room. My body trembled as a mighty rushing wind filled and uplifted me so much I thought I might fly away. I grabbed my brother’s arm as I felt like I might be taken up as well. Then I felt a rush of spirit whoosh up inside me and I saw my Dad’s chin tilt upward with a final breath as I felt the spirit leave his physical body…

stairway-to-heaven

It was very sacred, holy and precious to be in the presence of the Spirit of God and to witness my Dad’s spirit go to heaven accompanied by heavenly host. I was also extremely blessed and honored to spend the last night of Dad’s life by his bedside reading the bible out loud and praying and singing and telling him how much he was loved and appreciated. It was a “good death” and the assurance that he did not die but merely changed form, was so comforting.

During the last hour, I heard the audible words, “Glory Divine” and asked my sister if she heard it, but no one had. My Father passed around 12:35pm. At 3:33 am in my hotel room I was awakened by the same audible words, “Glory Divine” and then the explanation, with the first line of the hymn, “Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine; oh what a foretaste of Glory divine.” I started to cry at the gentle, tender, loving care that God and the angels were making sure I knew, understood and was assured as my Dad was assured. My Dad was given a foretaste of Glory before he transitioned. Other words of the hymn they used to convey what was transpiring in his last hours: “perfect delight; visions of rapture; angels descending bringing whispers of love; all is at rest; I in my Savior am happy and blessed; filled with his Goodness, lost in his Love.” All these things I was able to witness, feel and experience during my Dad’s transition. What a sacred honor; what a blessing! There is truly no death when we are in Christ in God!

In Christ, God is in us here on earth and we are in God. When we drop the physical body we are still in God, surrounded by Love, enfolded in Love, filled with Love, and radiating Love; yet on a grander, majestic, awe-inspiring, glory-filled, divine level, spiritual realm or heavenly dimension!

Blessed Assurance by Francis J. Crosby (1873)

“Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.
Refrain:
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long.
Perfect submission, perfect delight,
Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels, descending, bring from above
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.
Perfect submission, all is at rest,
I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.”

My Dad truly was filled with God’s Goodness and I am honored to be witness to such a peaceful, love-infused, spirit-filled passage from life into an eternal Life of glory! Glory Divine!!!!

Heaven_clouds_by_gimp9393

About NewHeavenOnEarth

I am my Beloved's and He calls me His own!
This entry was posted in spirituality, transformation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There Is No Death

  1. Felix Labinjo says:

    Thank you for sharing this most beautiful, very moving sacred moment. You have truly been blessed. Enjoy this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9XZ_HSquUQ

    Like

    • Thank you Felix. All were blessed to know my Dad who so many said was “the kindest man they had ever met.” I was flipping through the channels this afternoon when I heard “Blessed Assurance” being sung; I looked out the sliding glass door and a hummingbird was hovering at the window for the whole song with a beautiful backdrop of blue sky, green leaves, calm ocean as if another wonderful tribute to my Dad and his impactful life!

      Like

  2. Christine says:

    Yvonne – Thanks so much for sharing this! My father died last year, and although his life and death were quite different from your father’s, you and I still had similar experiences, once again.

    One difference is my father came to Jesus only 10 hours before he died. This from a man who just a year before said “Who is this Jesus guy? He never gave a s— about me, I don’t give a. s— about Him” when I asked if he ever thought about Jesus when he had a heart attack. I prayed for his choice many a time, and God’s Presence were all around me and obvious the entire time he was in the hospital. His 3 weeks from cancer diagnosis to death were so quick, yet so sacred. I too spent time reading Scripture to him and held his hand as he told me he was ready for Jesus, to my surprise and shedding of tears, led him in prayer accepting Jesus. Many miracles this time, that I’d like to share with you more privately if you can share your email. He was not treated properly for his pain, yet he was lucid until the end which was the biggest blessing. He was sad during life but his end of life happened perfectly, surrounded by family. He also waited for me, which I am so grateful for.

    Blessings sister – and your dad is welcomed home. I imagine he and my dad now know each other. :).

    Like

    • Christine, thank you so much for sharing about your father. What an awesome testimony! I love imagining our dads as buddies in heaven, bragging up their daughters I am sure 🙂 Thank you for sharing your father’s negative idea of Jesus before he turned around and surrendered his life to him. I think many have this misconception about Jesus and blame him for the pain, destruction and separation that is caused by the enemy; what a devilish deception of satan to wreak havoc in people’s lives and then blame the innocent, giving, all Good, Source of Real Love and healing and comfort. The enemy has also infiltrated religion and is turning many away from the Source of Life by trying to give Jesus a bad name or painting him as just a good man or myth without power. I know that my life was a total mess before the Spirit of God opened up the bible to me and poured his Fire and Holy Spirit into me and brought me to the heavens to experience being absorbed into God’s Love. Jesus saved my life when he said to me, “Come to Me and I will give you rest for your soul” Thank God!!!!

      I found the movie “Heaven is for Real” on Starzs last night and I was struck by the knowledge that many people (even pastors and elders in the church) did not really believe Jesus and heaven are real and that many are mad or irritated at God when they have suffered loss or have bad things that have happened in their life. Like your father they turned away and blamed God or are irritated by talk of heaven, angels or Jesus. That is probably why we have been given so many encounters with God and heaven, so we can be living testimonies to the veracity of Jesus and angels and heavenly dimensions! The grace, mercy, forgiveness, redemption, freedom, transformation, transfiguration, resurrection into ascended life, love, peace and joy are for everyone who turn to Jesus. I can’t imagine doing life without his constant guidance, protection, love and Presence. Holy Spirit is the greatest Comfort and Power and Love and transforms my daily life. I still am amazed that it is so simple: we give all the bad stuff that has happened to us; we give all the wrongs in our life to Jesus and he gives us all that right, true, beautiful, lovely, joyful, and peaceful! He gives us his perfect ascended Life for our messed up one! So Good! So God!!!!

      I am eternally grateful to be given so many glimpses into heavenly, miraculous, glorious, wonderful, awe-inspiring, amazing things of the Spirit here on earth. When we set our mind on the Spirit, the things of the Spirit begin to be all we see! How glorious! I am truly in awe and wonder! I love you, my CJ!!!! All honor, thanks, glory, and majesty to God!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

